Are Trolli Gummy Worms Gluten Free?

Trolli is a brand of delicious German candies. If you are on a gluten-free diet or gluten intolerable, you might want to know whether their tasty neon worms or crawlers are gluten-free. So are trolli gummy worms gluten free?

Trolli gummy worms, known as Trolli Sour Brite Crawlers, are naturally gluten-free. However, those with extreme sensitivity should note that the candy is packaged on equipment that may have traces of wheat. People with severe gluten sensitivity should avoid Trolli gummy worms in this case.

Let us look at what “gluten-free” means, the ingredients Trolli gummy worms contain, why those with extreme sensitivity cannot eat them, and other helpful information.  

Are Trolli Gummy Worms Gluten free?

Trolli worms do not contain any ingredients made from wheat, barley, or rye.

Thus, these sweets are gluten-free.

It is also listed on the National Foundation for Celiac Awareness’ Gluten-Free Candy List.

The Meaning Of Gluten-free

According to Mayo Clinic, gluten can be found in grains like wheat, barley, and rye.

Usually, people with celiac disease or other medical conditions that make them gluten sensitive follow gluten-free diets. 

The Ingredients Used To Make Trolli Worms

To know what you are eating and whether it is truly gluten-free, you need to look at the ingredients on the back of the packet. Trolli worms have the following ingredients:

  • Corn Syrup, 
  • Sugar, 
  • Gelatin, 
  • Modified Food Starch (Corn), 
  • Fumaric Acid, 
  • Lactic acid, 
  • Citric acid, 
  • Sodium Citrate, 
  • Calcium Lactate, 
  • Sodium Lactate, 
  • Natural and Artificial Flavors, and
  • Titanium Dioxide. 

Let us consider each of these ingredients. 

Corn Syrup and Sugar Are Gluten-free

Glucose syrup is gluten-free, even when made from wheat.

This syrup is extensively processed and, as such, does not contain any gluten.

Sugar is also gluten-free since most of it comes from sugar cane or sugar beet and not wheat, rye, or barley.

Gelatin Is A Collagen And Gluten-free

Gelatin is naturally gluten-free since it is made from animal substances and is an excellent source of protein.

It is usually used as a thickening ingredient in many desserts and sweets. 

Modified Food Starch Is Gluten-free

Modified food starch is a gluten-free, thickening ingredient and food additive made from maize.

If you see modified starch as an ingredient and it does not refer to a cereal that contains gluten, such as wheat or barley, it is made from a cereal that does not contain gluten. 

Thus modified food starch in Trolli worms is gluten-free.

Lactic, Fumaric And Citric Acid Are All Gluten-free

Lactic acid is used for gluten-free products to add a buttery note.

Citric acid is also gluten-free, even though it can be made from wheat.

Because it is so highly processed, it remains gluten-free. Fumaric acid is also gluten-free and used to add flavor and a sour taste to Trolli worms. 

Sodium Citrate Is Gluten-free 

Sodium citrate is a sodium salt derived from citric acid and is gluten-free. It provides a fresh acidic taste to gluten-free foods.

Calcium and Sodium Lactate Are Gluten-free 

Calcium lactate is used as a calcium supplement and derived from eggshells to support bone health.

It is certified gluten-free. It is added to food to stabilize, thicken, flavor, firm, or leaven.

Sodium lactate is used to provide longer shelf life. It preserves products and is thus, gluten-free.

Titanium Dioxide Is Used To Coat Candy And Is Gluten-free 

Titanium dioxide is a food additive used to coat candy and sweets like Trolli worms. It is gluten-free.

Natural And Artificial Colors Are Gluten-free 

Food coloring is usually gluten-free. It is used to give sweets and candy in different colors.

Trolli worms are known for their neon colors and have been naturally and artificially dyed.

However, other products might contain caramel or caramel coloring, containing gluten. This will be indicated in the product list. 

Trolli Worms’ Packaging May Have Traces Of Wheat

There are people with extreme sensitivity to wheat.

It is important to know that Trolli worms may have been packaged on equipment containing wheat traces if you are extremely sensitive.

This could potentially make you sick if it has been packaged in a shared facility or equipment. The equipment is usually cleaned between different products. 

Of course, each manufacturer is different. You might not react or only get a slight reaction if you are gluten-sensitive or have celiac disease. These are the following things you need to consider:

  • If you are not extremely sensitive to gluten, you can eat Trolli worms.
  • If you want to avoid gluten 100%, it is best to steer clear of Trolli worms.
  • If you know you are sensitive to traces of gluten, steer clear of Trolli worms.
  • Your decision to eat Trolli worms will be based on your level of sensitivity to gluten

Goal to stay gluten-free completely

Products made in a shared facility or on shared equipment might wind up being safe additions to your diet, or they might not.

It’s up to you to decide on whether to eat Trolli worms.

The only way to know your sensitivity is to experiment and see how your body reacts.

You can also choose to make contact with the manufacturer.

Trolli Gummy Worms Related Questions

Are Trolli Gummy Worms Vegan?

Unfortunately, Trolli gummy worms are not vegan. These gummies contain gelatin from pigs. 

gummy worms calories?

One serving size (eight pieces) contains 100 calories. It also has 14g sugar, 1g protein, 30mg sodium, and 25g carbohydrates.

Conclusion

Gluten is largely found in wheat and barley.

People with celiac disease usually go gluten-free, cutting out wheat and barley from their diets.

Luckily, Trolli worms do not contain any gluten ingredients.

Whether you have celiac disease or just want to go gluten-free, Trolli worms are the perfect choice for you.

It is always important to consider the ingredients at the back of the packet. 

Anything that contains wheat, barley, and rye has gluten in it.

Ingredients like those above are all gluten-free, and anyone with gluten sensitivity or medical conditions like celiac disease can safely eat Trolli worms.

People who are extremely sensitive and react to minimal traces of wheat should steer clear from Trolli worms since it may have been packaged on equipment with traces of wheat.